This project is read-only.

Can't add SharpGL controls

Apr 29, 2012 at 7:06 PM
Edited Apr 29, 2012 at 9:06 PM

I'm somewhat new to both OpenGL and Visual Studio, so I apologize if I'm missing something basic, but when I open up the sample solution in VS (and ignore the errors about "Solution folders not being supported in this version of the application" and "source control providers not being found"), I see they use controls like VertexControl, OpenGLControl, and SceneControl, which have their own special category in the toolbox.  However, when I make my own, new SharpGL windows form application, that category is gone and I can't add any of those controls (though the default OpenGLControl is there in the designer and not in the toolbox).  Further, I can't seem to add them to the toolbox manually by creating a new tab and right click->choose items, selecting SharpGL.dll or SharpGLSceneGraph.dll).

However, the application I'm trying to design would involve raising/lowering vertices on a flat landscape made of quads - and from what I've read so far, scripting picking from scratch seems very complicated.  A few of the SharpGL controls (SceneControl, maybe VertexControl?) seem from the samples like they could be a huge help, but I can't add them.  I followed the instructions when installing SharpGL (they are rather simple, after all) - but perhaps there's something else I have to do, beyond just installing SharpGL, to make those controls available?  Do I have to add some special reference? 

I'm using Visual Studio 2010 and have installed the SharpGL extension from the downloads page.

Apr 30, 2012 at 2:21 AM