This project is read-only.

Should I use SceneGraphs and how?

Jun 8, 2012 at 4:53 AM
Edited Jun 9, 2012 at 3:38 PM

Forgive me if this question is too basic or general; I'm new to both OpenGL and SharpGL, but so far I'm really liking this implementation of OpenGL for c#!

In my project, I'm creating a 2D scene (using a orthographic projection) on which I'll be displaying a variety of symbols (starting out with simple points but eventually I will use various primitive shapes) that indicate various 2D coordinates of objects in my data (pretty generic so far, I know).  At times I could be dealing with more than 100,000 symbols at once (grouped into "tracks" with lines drawn between symbols that make up a given track).

FYI, I've prototyped a basic display using an OpenGLControl, created a few hundred-thousand points (grouped by the 100s into "tracks" with lines between them), and implemented a pan/zoom capability that allows the user to zoom into the mouse location (or center of the screen)--all working pretty well.

ONE other piece of info before my question: when I start using symbols, I'll need them each to maintain their size (in pixels, if you will) when the user zooms in on the scene.  Their relative positions will change to reflect the zooming, but not their actual size.  I haven't tried it yet, but I THINK I can do this with the right combination of pushing and popping the ModelView matrix on either side of rendering the symbols--maybe?

Oh, AND I'll need to do hit-testing against the symbols and connecting lines for user interaction.