This project is read-only.

Recommendation for newbies

Feb 15, 2013 at 9:29 PM
I have written a lot of C# code but I am totally new to OpenGL.

I am wondering if anyone can recommend an introductory book for a total OpenGL novice., preferably one oriented at least toward Windows, if not C#.

Much of the documentation here appears to assume that the reader is well acquainted with OpenGL.

I'd like something a bit more elementary than the red book, which assumes that the user is familiar with basic graphics concepts.

Thanks in advance,
Michael Bate
Feb 16, 2013 at 1:11 PM
Hi Michael,

Personally, I went through the red book to learn, so am not sure what is a good book to recommend, BUT I can recommend this site:

http://nehe.gamedev.net/

There is lots of good information in the 'Legacy Tutorials' section.
Feb 16, 2013 at 4:58 PM
Thank you!

I am starting to go through the Legacy Tutorials that you recommended. I hope they are not too aimed at game developers. I am not a game developer and do not play computer games.

I have looked at the red book. But when I take your FormSimpleDrawing example and replace your drawing code with the very first example in the red book, nothing happens. Here is what I replace it with:
             gl.ClearColor (0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);
             gl.Color(1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f);

gl.Begin(OpenGL.GL_POLYGON);
                    gl.Vertex (0.25f, 0.25f, 0.0f);
                    gl.Vertex (0.75f, 0.25f, 0.0f);
                    gl.Vertex (0.75f, 0.75f, 0.0f);
                    gl.Vertex (0.25f, 0.75f, 0.0f);
            gl.End();
            gl.Flush();
Tweaking the X and Y values (and also the Z values) in the gl.Vertex calls has no effect. I leave your preceding code in place:
            OpenGL gl = this.openGLControl1.OpenGL;
            gl.Clear(OpenGL.GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | OpenGL.GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);    // Clear The Screen And The Depth Buffer
            gl.LoadIdentity();                    // Reset The View